EU, France Reach Deal On Saint-Barthélemy Savings Tax

by Ulrika Lomas,, Brussels

20 February 2014

The European Union (EU) and France have inked an agreement on the application of savings tax legislation to the collectivity of Saint-Barthélemy.

The island of Saint-Barthélemy ceased to be an outermost region of the EU with effect from January 1, 2012. It gained the status of overseas country or territory. At the time, France undertook to conclude the agreements necessary to ensure that the EU's interests were preserved when the change took place.

ECOFIN President Yannis Stournaras said the agreement is "a strong expression of the willingness of France and the EU to ensure continuity and consistency in the fight against tax fraud and tax evasion."

Writing to the French Finance Minister Pierre Moscovici and EU Tax Commissioner Algirdas Šemeta, Stournaras said the agreement "contributes to avoiding loopholes by extending the territorial scope of the current Savings Directive and the Directive on Administrative cooperation."

He further stressed that "EU instruments can only work effectively where they do not leave loopholes or shortcomings which can be used by tax planners in order to avoid taxation."



Treaty Updates by Territory

Latest Treaty Updates

Treaty Update: Hong Kong - South Africa


According to a July 21 update from the South African Revenue Service, Hong Kong has newly ratified the DTA the territory signed with South Africa.

Treaty Update: Jersey - Korea, South


Jersey and South Korea signed a TIEA on July 21, 2015.

Treaty Update: Kyrgyzstan - Saudi Arabia


Kyrgyzstan has ratified the DTA signed with Saudi Arabia, the President's website said on July 22, 2015.

Treaty Update: Kenya - Netherlands


Kenya and the Netherlands signed a DTA on July 22, 2015.

Treaty Update: United Arab Emirates - Uruguay


According to preliminary media reports, the United Arab Emirates has ratified the DTA signed with Uruguay.

Treaty Update: Barbados - Korea, South


During a recent meeting by the Korean Ambassador-Designate to Barbados, Doo-Young Lee, Barbados expressed an interest in launching DTA negotiations with South Korea.

Treaty Update: Ukraine - Ireland


Ukraine's Parliament on July 15, 2015, approved a law to ratify the DTA signed with Ireland.

Treaty Update: Japan - Germany


Japan's Ministry of Finance on July 16, 2015, announced that it has agreed a DTA in principle with Germany.

Treaty Update: Netherlands - Germany


The Netherlands and Germany on July 14, 2015, signed a TIEA that covers tax rulings and advance pricing agreements.

Treaty Update: Luxembourg - Brunei


Luxembourg and Brunei signed a DTA on July 14, 2015.

Treaty Update: United Kingdom - Various


The UK has recently released draft legislation to ratify DTAs signed with Algeria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Senegal, and Sweden.

Treaty Update: Poland - Ethiopia


Poland and Ethiopia signed a DTA on July 13, 2015.

Treaty Update: Oman - Switzerland


Oman has ratified the DTA signed with Switzerland, it was announced on July 14, 2015.

Treaty Update: Czech Republic - Andorra


The Czech Government has visited Andorra to express interest in signing a DTA, the Andorra Government disclosed on July 3.

Treaty Update: Switzerland - Liechtenstein


Switzerland and Liechtenstein signed a DTA and an accompanying Protocol on July 10, 2015.

Treaty Update: New Zealand - Samoa


New Zealand signed a DTA with Samoa on July 8, 2015.

Treaty Update: United States - Vietnam


The United States and Vietnam signed a DTA on July 7, 2015.

Treaty Update: France - Various


France's National Assembly on July 1, 2015, approved two bills (No. 2924 and No. 2925) endorsing the DTAs signed with Luxembourg and Switzerland.

Treaty Update: Italy - Hong Kong


Italy has ratified the DTA signed with Hong Kong, publishing law no. 96 in its Official Gazette on July 7, 2015. The law became effective on July 8, 2015.

Treaty Update: San Marino - United States


San Marino and the United States are engaged in negotiations towards a DTA, the San Marino Government said on June 23, 2015.

Treaty Update: Hong Kong - Japan


Hong Kong and Japan completed the exchange of instruments of ratification on July 6, 2015, bringing the DTA into force.

Treaty Update: Canada - New Zealand


A new DTA between Canada and New Zealand entered into force on June 26, 2015.

Treaty Update: Oman - Portugal


According to preliminary media reports, Oman on July 2, 2015, ratified the DTA signed with Portugal.

Treaty Update: Jersey - Rwanda


Jersey and Rwanda signed a DTA on June 26, 2015.

Treaty Update: Hong Kong - Macedonia


Hong Kong and Macedonia completed a first round of DTA negotiations on June 12, 2015.

More Treaty Updates