CONTINUEThis site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.


Ireland Amends Employment And Investment Incentive

by Jason Gorringe,, London
06 November 2017

The Irish Government has announced changes to the Employment and Investment Incentive (EII), to bring it into line with EU regulations.

The EII is a tax relief that can be used by trading companies to attract equity-based risk finance from individuals. It allows individual investors to obtain income tax relief on investments made, in each year, into EII-certified qualifying companies. The scheme will run until 2020.

The majority of SMEs can qualify, providing they are under seven years old. Qualifying companies that wish to raise finance under the EII must issue ordinary shares to the investor in respect of the amount invested. The company must use the money raised to carry on a qualifying trade. Invested funds cannot be used for debt repayment. The investor must keep the shares for at least four years.

According to the Irish Finance Department, officials recently became aware that the EII does not accord with Article 21(3) of the European Commission's General Block Exemption Regulations (GBER). These rules require that risk finance aid schemes – such as the EII – should be restricted to independent private investors, and that they must not provide relief to persons with close connections to the undertaking.

GBER allows EU member states to avoid state aid approval for schemes, in certain instances, which might otherwise need approval as compatible with the internal market.

The Finance Department has now announced that only independent private investors, within the meaning of GBER, are eligible for relief under EII. Individuals can no longer claim relief under EII for investments made in a company to which they are connected.

An individual is deemed to be connected with a company where that individual, or an associate of that individual, owns any of the share capital, loan capital, or voting rights of a company. An individual is also connected with a company if they have a right to any of the assets of the company on a winding up. Relationships through partnerships and trusts are also included.

The EII will continue to be available to first-time investors and to investors who have already made an EII investment in a particular undertaking and who only hold EII-related shares.

Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe said: "I am acting decisively to correct the error in the scheme. I now propose to review the EII scheme, and the legislation underpinning it, to ensure it operates as a competitive, efficient, and effective measure in accordance with state aid rules and my Department's Tax Expenditure Guidelines."

"The review will be completed in the first half of 2018 so that any resultant legislative changes can be brought forward in the context of Budget 2019."


Treaty Updates by Territory

Latest Treaty Updates

Hong Kong - France

Hong Kong announced on January 15, 2018, that it had entered into a competent authority agreement with France for the exchange of country-by-country reports.

Japan - Iceland

Japan signed a DTA with Iceland on January 15, 2018.

Czech Republic - Korea, South

According to preliminary media reports, on January 12, 2018, the Czech Republic and South Korea signed a DTA to replace their existing pact.

Ireland - Kazakhstan

According to a January 12, 2018, update from the Irish Revenue, the country's DTA with Kazakhstan became effective on January 1, 2018, having entered into force on December 29, 2017.

Japan - Argentina

Japan and Argentina launched DTA negotiations on January 10, 2018.

United Arab Emirates - Various

The United Arab Emirates Cabinet on January 7, 2018, approved two double tax agreements concluded with Moldova and Croatia.

Taiwan - United States

Taiwanese Premier Lai Ching-Te has directed the Ministry of Finance to work towards a Taiwan-US tax treaty.

Cyprus - Saudi Arabia

Cyprus and Saudi Arabia signed a DTA on January 3, 2018.

Colombia - Japan

According to preliminary media reports, Colombia and Japan are negotiating a DTA.

Georgia - Moldova

Georgia and Moldova signed a DTA on November 29, 2017.

Luxembourg - Kosovo

Luxembourg and Kosovo signed a DTA on December 8, 2017.

Switzerland - United Kingdom

Switzerland and the United Kingdom signed a DTA Protocol on November 30, 2017.

Liechtenstein - United Arab Emirates

According to an update from the Liechtenstein Government, the new DTA with the United Arab Emirates will become effective from January 1, 2018.

Netherlands - Liechtenstein

According to preliminary media reports, the Netherlands and Liechtenstein held a first round of DTA negotiations over three days ending November 17, 2017.

Saudi Arabia - Bulgaria

Saudi Arabia's Cabinet on November 28, 2017, authorized the signing of a DTA with Bulgaria.

Bahrain - Hong Kong

Bahrain's Cabinet has approved the signing of a new DTA with Hong Kong, the state news agency said November 13, 2017.

Hong Kong - Various

Hong Kong announced on November 24, 2017, that its DTAs with Pakistan and Latvia had entered into force.

Finland - Germany

Finland on November 2, 2017, confirmed that a new DTA signed with Germany will be effective from January 1, 2018.

Cyprus - Iran

The DTA between Cyprus and Iran will become effective from January 1, 2018.

India - New Zealand

India ratified a third Protocol to its DTA with New Zealand on November 2, 2017, publishing a Notice in its Official Gazette.

Gibraltar - United Kingdom

Gibraltar and the United Kingdom are considering launching negotiations towards a DTA, according to recent comments from the UK's Economic Secretary to the Treasury.

Barbados - Italy

Barbados and Italy have exchanged instruments of ratification in respect of a DTA, which will now become effective from January 1, 2018.

Switzerland - Pakistan

Switzerland's Government on October 25, 2017, adopted a dispatch on the DTA concluded with Pakistan, enabling its ratification.

Spain - Portugal

Spain and Portugal signed a DTA on October 18, 2017.

Pakistan - Latvia

Pakistan and Latvia initialed a DTA on October 25, 2017.

More Treaty Updates