CONTINUEThis site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.


UK Tax Professionals Call For Trusts Register Delay

by Jason Gorringe,, London
17 October 2017

The Association of Taxation Technicians (ATT) in the UK has called for an extension to the trust register deadline.

New anti-money laundering regulations introduced in June 2017 require most trusts to retain written records of the individuals involved in the creation and running of the trust such as the settlors and trustees. They also require trustees to keep written details of their beneficiaries.

Any trust that is liable to certain taxes, including income tax, capital gains tax, stamp duty land tax, and inheritance tax, has to report these same details to HMRC for inclusion on a new Trust Register via the Trusts Registration Service (TRS). The register will not be accessible to the public but will be accessible to a number of law enforcement agencies.

The ATT says an ongoing delay means trust advisers are still unable to access the new Trusts Registration Service (TRS), causing great concern to trustees and their advisers.

The deadline for supplying the information is January 31, 2018. Trustees have been able to access the register since July but, despite an estimated 80 percent of trusts relying upon their professional advisers to deal with matters like this, advisers do not yet have access to the TRS.

Yvette Nunn, Co-chair of ATT's Technical Steering Group, said: "While we understand the goal of improving transparency by creating a Trust Register, the ongoing delay in agent access to the TRS system is causing our members great concern. Our members want to comply with the new rules, and guide their clients accordingly, but are being asked to do so during their busiest months in the run up to the self-assessment deadline of January 31, 2018.

"The ongoing delay in agent access to the TRS has led us to call for the deadline to be extended to April 5, 2018, for this first year. This should ensure advisers have enough time to fully comply with the new requirements."


Treaty Updates by Territory

Latest Treaty Updates

Kenya - Portugal

On July 10, 2018, officials from Kenya and Portugal signed a DTA.

San Marino - United Arab Emirates

On July 11, 2018, San Marino and the United Arab Emirates signed a DTA.

United Arab Emirates - Various

The UAE's Cabinet on June 13, 2018, approved DTAs signed with Saudi Arabia, Rwanda, and Turkmenistan.

Morocco - Azerbaijan

A law to ratify the Azerbaijan-Morocco DTA was tabled before Morocco's Cabinet on June 14, 2018.

Qatar - Argentina

Qatar's Government on June 14, 2018, confirmed that it had completed its domestic ratification procedures in respect of a DTA signed with Argentina.

Ukraine - United Kingdom

Ukraine's Cabinet on June 6, 2018, approved a law to ratify a DTA Protocol signed with the United Kingdom.

Luxembourg - Vietnam

Luxembourg and Vietnam agreed to continue negotiations towards a DTA Protocol at a June 15 meeting.

Sweden - Switzerland

Sweden's Parliament on June 7, 2018, approved an amendment to the country's DTA with Switzerland to clarify the scope of the term pension fund in the agreement.

Switzerland - Various

Switzerland's lower house of Parliament on May 29, 2018, approved DTAs with Kosovo and Pakistan.

Morocco - Congo, Republic of the

The Moroccan Government has approved for ratification a DTA with the Republic of the Congo, it announced on May 29, 2018.

Argentina - Brazil

Argentina has approved a protocol to its DTA with Brazil, the Argentinian Official Gazette reported on May 23, 2018.

Brazil - Norway

Brazil's upper house of Parliament on May 30, 2018, approved a protocol updating the DTA with Norway.

Hong Kong - Finland

Hong Kong and Finland on May 24, 2018, signed a DTA.

Russia - Japan

Legislation ratifying a new DTA between Russia and Japan was submitted to the Russian State Assembly (the Duma) for approval on May 22, 2018.

Vietnam - Macau

Vietnam and Macau signed a DTA on April 16, according to a statement released by the Vietnamese Ministry of Finance on May 11, 2018.

Jordan - Switzerland

Talks are continuing on a DTA between Jordan and Switzerland, according to a statement released by Jordan's Foreign Ministry on May 14, 2018.

Czech Republic - Ghana

The Czech Senate approved a law to ratify the DTA with Ghana on May 17, 2018.

Philippines - Various

The Philippines-Thailand DTA entered into force on March 5, and the Philippines' DTA with Sri Lanka on March 14, the Filipino tax agency announced on May 17, 2018. They will be effective from January 1, 2019.

Jordan - Luxembourg

Jordan's Minister of Planning and International Cooperation met with Luxembourg's Finance Minister to discuss enhanced cooperation between the two countries in a number of areas and agreed to seek to conclude a DTA.

Uzbekistan - Lithuania

Uzbekistan and Lithuania are to engage in talks towards a DTA, Uzbekistan's state news agency reported May 9, 2018.

Georgia - Saudi Arabia

Two Georgian committees approved the text of a DTA with Saudi Arabia and forwarded it for ratification, according to a May 17 announcement on the Georgian parliament's website.

Hong Kong - Saudi Arabia

Hong Kong gazetted an order to ratify its DTA with Saudi Arabia on May 18, 2018.

Turkey - Afghanistan

Talks are continuing on a DTA between Turkey and Afghanistan, according to a statement released by Turkey's Ministry of the Interior on May 11, 2018.

Finland - Spain

A new DTA between Finland and Spain will enter into force in January 2019, according to a May 18, 2018, announcement from the Finnish tax authority.

Andorra - Cyprus

Andorra and Cyprus have signed a DTA, Andorra's Government announced on May 18, 2018.

More Treaty Updates